COL Darron L. Wright Award Winners

Thanks to all the writers who submitted for the 2017 Darron L. Wright Award. We loved reading your work and are inspired by the creativity and ingenuity it took to write these pieces.

The winner of the short fiction contest is “Village With No Name” by Ray McPadden.

Second place goes to “Walking Point” by Dewaine Farria.

Third place goes to “Dirty Night Bingo” by Colin W. Sargent.

Other finalists were “Too Far East” by Anthony R. Garner and “Sand in the Desert” by Ryan Stoval

The winner of the Poetry contest is “Air Born” by Eric Chandler.

Second Place Goes to “Facing 2003” by Jeremy Warneke.

Third place goes to “the frequency hop” by Randy Brown.

Because a nation deserves to hear its veterans’ stories.

Fitzgerald and Bierce, Vonnegut and Hemingway, O’Brien and Salinger. Some of the finest writers in American history served in the U.S. military during times of war. Line of Advance is a non-profit literary journal committed to providing a platform for the voices of the next wave of great American writers. Join us and take part in the American literary experience.

Writers, Photographers, and Artists

We are currently accepting submissions of writing, photography, and art to showcase on LOA. We’re committed to promoting, networking, and helping to develop veteran writers and artists of all kinds. If you have work to submit, work to be seen, or even just a question, please reach out to us. You’re the reason we’re here.


Line of Advance was created for you, to provide a curated platform for the best in writing and other visual arts from American military veterans. Please check out recent posts, browse the site to learn more, or make a small financial contribution if you’re able.


Lost your password?