2020 Wright Prize News!!

Darron Wright

“Middle West Press LLC Teams Up with Chicago’s Line of Advance literary journal for anthology celebrating 5th Annual Col. Darron L. Wright Memorial Awards!”

LOA and Middle West Press are happy to announce a forthcoming print and e-book anthology that will collect the winning entries from the first five years (2016-2020) of the annual Col. Darron L. Wright Memorial Writing Awards. The awards annually recognize excellence in prose and poetry by U.S. military service members, veterans, and their families. Cash prizes of $250, $150, and $100 are available in each category.

This year’s Darron L. Wright award finalists will be included in the anthology. Submissions for the 2020 Darron L. Wright awards open May 1, 2020 and close May 31, 2020. Winners will be notified no later than Aug. 31, 2020.

The projected release date for “Line of Advance: A Celebration of Darron L. Wright Memorial Awards Finalists (2016-2020)” is Oct. 13, 2020.

As you know, the Wright Award has been administered by the journal since 2016 and underwritten by the Blake and Bailey Foundation. The awards commemorate a U.S. Army leader and author who was killed in a September 2013 parachute training accident. Darron L. Wright, 45, had deployed three times to Iraq, and was author of a 2012 memoir “Iraq Full Circle: From Shock and Awe to the Last Combat Patrol in Baghdad and Beyond.”

Middle West Press LLC (www.MiddleWestPress.com) is a Johnston, Iowa-based editor and publisher of non-fiction, fiction, journalism, and poetry, with projects that feature the unique voices of the American Midwest. “As an independent micro-press, we publish one to four titles annually. The Line of Advance Darron L. Wright Awards anthology will be the seventh of our titles involving war and military themes.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>


Lost your password?